MR COPYWRITER: Better conversations, Meet new friends & Peng tings

I decided to do something different on the blog today, and I know you’ll be excited to read about my copywriting journey, the perks of being a copywriter as a student  and what you can take home without being a copywriter. Okay guys, if you’re new to my blog I am Grey Matter, SEO-Copywriter and Founder APE and I’ll be walking you through my experiences so far in the marketing industry and how I live a happy life writing copy.

In my own very words, Copywriting is the simple application of habitually responsive writing techniques to communicate marketing messages and derive results. That’s basically what I do, write persuasive  sales messages from businesses to customers (B2C) and it has really changed my life in many positive ways and I believe it can change yours too.

I started off writing copy a year ago and it has been quite the journey, one thing I was quick to derive from my definition of what I do is that the techniques I use are tried-and-true methods of persuasion, what this means to me is; if I apply these same persuasion techniques to my oratory and daily conversations I’ll definitely get the results I want. As  a Law student, I am constantly faced with the most challenging courses, tests, assignments and exams and in my freshman and sophomore year it was quite challenging keeping my GPA afloat (pleasing these lecturers is humanly impossible)….

One thing I know for sure a Copywriter mindset does is, understand that even though humans appear logical and calculated, by all means make decisions based on emotions and justify them with logic. This realization has shifted my approach to conversations in my exams, with strangers (especially girls), negotiations, or getting the best out of others from logic and reasons to emotional appeal and selfish interests… 

In a research conducted in South London (2015), passers-by were asked to do a task randomly. One party was told to Spell pulchritude and another group was told to Simply spell pulchritude  the results showed that the latter group was relatively more responsive and had more participants that spelled the word correctly. The simple ‘’magic’’ behind this, is the simple inclusion of the word Simply in the mix. Participants who were asked to Spell pulchritude saw the task as herculean and simply wouldn’t stress. 

We must not forget that humans are constantly looking for ways to be happy and free from worry and stress so bringing a proposition that doesn’t in any way free them from stress or worry to people  might need to appeal to other emotions, in any case Pity. Appealing to people’s mercy or gratitude could work sometimes, but sooner or later that burns out and the only type of reason to engage with you or whatever you’re offering is Self Interest. Robert Greene talks about this in his 48 Laws of Power, a book I really recommend to anybody who wants to always have their way.

AIDA

I learnt this, writing copy with the AIDA technique that is Attention, Interest, Desire and of course Action. So next time when asking for help from a friend, starting a conversation with that boy or girl you find attractive, start with something catchy that will grab their attention, appeal to their self interest next, create a desire for whatever you’re offering (could be your friendship in any case) and of course get her number!

See you next week, and if you’re looking to join a community of intelligent Copywriters and learn alongside other talented writers, here’s a link to my Copy squad. Hurry now! the doors will be shut finally at the end of the month and I know deep down, you don’t want to miss out on the educational materials, ideas and experience we will be sharing in this community all for FREE.

Published by Grey Matter

I research topics related to Human Psychology, Sociology, Manipulative marketing, Governments, Law and Philosophy. I know my way around Programs and Systems. I write Punchlines for ads and manage Public Perception using a system I call Advanced Prospect Education.(APE)

2 thoughts on “MR COPYWRITER: Better conversations, Meet new friends & Peng tings

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started